Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

Frequently Asked Questions

Travel Ban 4.0 was revoked by Presidential Proclamation issued by President Jospeh R. Biden on January 20, 2021.

On Friday, January 31, 2020 President Donald Trump announced an expansion to Presidential Proclamation 9645. This expansion restricts travel to the United States for nationals from six additional countries beyond the countries already covered by the 2017 Executive Order (i.e., Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen). The expanded travel ban is scheduled to go into effect on February 21, 2020. 

Who is affected by the new travel ban ('Travel Ban 4.0')?

The new travel ban affects citizens of Nigeria, Myanmar, Sudan, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Tanzania.

What does the new travel ban do?

  • The new travel ban, often referred to restricts the ability of citizens of the six additional countries identified above to enter the US as immigrants (US ‘permanent residents’ or ‘green card’ holders).
  • For citizens of Tanzania and Sudan, the ban only applies to persons seeking US permanent residence under the Diversity Lottery program, and not for all permanent residence categories.
  • There are possible special exceptions for persons who might be eligible for permanent residence based on assistance to the US government. Please refer to the NAFSA Resource page for more information. In addition, information about any updates will be posted on the International Center’s Executive Order Travel Ban webpage.

Does the new travel ban affect F-1 students, J-1 exchange visitors, or H-1B employees?

  • Because this new travel ban only applies to persons seeking to come to the US as permanent residents, it does not apply to non-immigrant visas such as the F-1 student visa, J-1 exchange visitor visa, or H-1B temporary worker visa, among others. As a result, you should be reassured that this Ban does not apply to any non-immigrant F-1, J-1, or H-1B visa holder.

What further action should I take?

  • The International Center is monitoring this situation closely has sent a communication to currently-enrolled students (Spring 2020 semester) from countries affected by Travel Ban 4.0.
  • Although the ban does not apply to people from the six countries who may be traveling on non-immigrant visas, if you do travel outside the United States, you might experience enhanced screening or vetting at Consulates (if you are applying for a visa stamp, for example) and enhanced security and screening at the border. We recommend you register your travel with the Travel Registry and carry the emergency contact card with you when you travel, so we can assist you in the event you do have problems. We also encourage you to discuss any upcoming or future travel plans with an international student and scholar advisor at the International Center.
  • If you, or your family members, are from one of the travel ban affected countries and are currently in the process of pursuing a immigrant visa, please contact the International Center for general advice and guidance on possible implications of the ban. The Center may need to refer you to an immigration attorney for direct assistance on your individual case.

Please know that Tufts continues to value all its community members, including those who travel from around the world to share in the development and dissemination of knowledge. We remain committed to protecting our international community members, regardless of national origin or citizenship status. As updates become available, we will make them known.

University Resources

We also want to remind you of some of the resources that are available to you here at Tufts. Please reach out to any of those listed below if you think they may be helpful to you now or in the future, and do not hesitate to write to me at with your questions and concerns.